REAL LIFE SMILEY BY ALLEN A. COLEMAN

IMG_7659About three years ago, I shot a friend smiling her brains out whilst we were out having lunch. initially I thought nothing of the shot until I got home and couldn’t stop smiling at the photo smiling back at me. On the strength on that photo I started shooting smiling portraits of people I profiled for my street style photography. Six months went by and I had a couple of favorites out of the lot I had shot, this photo went on to become the first of my REAL LIFE SMILEY blog series.

A few weeks ago, I was skimming through my comment section on all my old posts and I came across one that took me back to my first smiling photo; it said “I have been smiling throughout reading this post”. I have been wanting my photos to mean something other than just a few seconds of your internet time, I want my photos to live on, dwell in your memory and leave you sensitive enough to smile at anything. I want my photos to remind people what a little curve in your lips does to this world, and so I have decided to re-open this project and this time my hope is it will go on to become more than a blog post. I am officially the smile collector.

photo: Allen Coleman

5 responses to REAL LIFE SMILEY BY ALLEN A. COLEMAN

Leave a Reply

