AFRICA SKATES EXHIBITS IN LOS ANGELES 3RD MAY 2013

IMG_6855Last year during my visit to South Africa I was fortunate to run into a group of young adults who caught more than my attention with their passion for skating. As I stood there and watched these young ones pull tricks, I was totally convinced that lines that border culture are thinner than I thought . Back home in Ghana, the skate culture is almost non existent, so turning the corner to discover this phenom was the best decision I had made all day. It is amazing how a culture birthed in the heart of a far away land has managed to travel this distance without missing a detail.
I took these photos not to showcase ability to shoot sports but to spread the word that the world is getting smaller. Culture has been building borders for a while, now its breaking  them
IMG_9358Today , the 3rd of May I am happy to announce that the turn I took on that faithful day has turned a personal project into a much bigger giant that I had envisioned. Tomorrow on the 3rd of May, these photos will be show cased in a pop up shop and art show organized and run by “Space 15 Twenty” in LA and subsequently in NY on the 9th. The shop will run through till the end of May and will showcase a variety of other projects. There will be a live performance from Theophilus London and a percentage of all proceeds from the sale of the prints shall be a donated  to VDAY to help stop violence against women.
Visit the pop up shop in LA at:
1520 N CAHUENGA BLVD LOS ANGELES CA 90028
One response to AFRICA SKATES EXHIBITS IN LOS ANGELES 3RD MAY 2013

Leave a Reply

