THE RETURN OF THE GENTLEMAN : CARY GRANT

 Most often people get caught off guard when they ask me who sits on the list of individuals who influence my style . I think the element of surprise is usually intense with older individuals than my clueless peers . Cary Grant , every time this name comes out of my mouth it either meets a pleasantly surprised face or a clueless one. Archibald Alexander Leach (January 18, 1904–November 29, 1986), better known by his stage name Cary Grant, was an English actor who later took US citizenship. Known for his transatlantic accent, debonair demeanor and “dashing good looks”], Grant is considered one of classic Hollywood’s definitive leading men. Cary grant to me is the quintessential gentleman, period. I discovered Cary grant through the pages of GQ and I was hooked to my sartorial hero. Cary grant remains on the top of my list because he represents the quintessential gentleman to me in terms of etiquette and style .This man is the reason I started watching classic movies and is to blame for my love for grey suitsAside from his screen play, the only thing that fascinated me about Cary grant off screen was his dress sense. Cary Grant possesses something  that I call ‘’take no prisoners’’ , take a look at Cary grant ,and I’ll bet my bank savings if you don’t find him with perfect inches of cuff showing in his suits or the right hem length on his pants. You will hardly spot a picture of Cary grant not draped in a suit ever so distinguished with his signature grey suit and bold ties. He claims his father used to say, ‘Let them see you and not the suit. That should be secondary.’  And you can’t dispute that Cary embodied this advice to the brim of the glass with so much debonair . I pay tribute to Cary grant because this man has taught me a lot just from observation…he is the reason behind my numerous trips to the tailor to get my suit sleeves taken back and my pants hemmed to the right length.  Salute.
         

2 responses to THE RETURN OF THE GENTLEMAN : CARY GRANT

  1. virginia

    yes he was the Gentlemen of all gentlemen. Guys, Take a long look, this is how a gentlemen dresses and carrys himself. virginia

Leave a Reply

