FWST : FRESHWALLSTREET GOES TO NIGERIA FOR MMR

“Dearly beloved, we have all gathered here to go though this thing called life”..so I plan to go through mine with a little pocket space for empty memories. I was more than willing to jump on a plane to nigeria when I heard the first ever music meets the runway which was rumored to be hosted by amber rose ( don’t hold your tongue she didn’t make it ) was about to be held in EKO hotel , lagos. Apart from just wanting to be part of something this eventful  for the first time,  I have always been curious about the land of the eagles…I love traveling, meeting new people and getting in tune with other cultures  , so second guessing was out of the question when the chance finally came .

I don’t think anyone enjoys packing like the way I do…I unpack and pack with a playlist (epic “I know I’m crazy” moment) . So I made sure I packed everything I need, everything I might and what you’ll never know if I’ll need , that equals heavy luggage . I opted for an iamisigo charlatan t-shirt , my favorite hnm denim ( D.I.Y distressing)and my favorite espadrilles…don’t know about you but I always keep it comfy when I travel especially with all the hustle of traveling

#flightmuzik kendrick lamar ♫ alien (there is a soundtrack to every scene in life )

I Got  to Nigeria late morning. The cab ride to the hotel was hilarious courtesy of the driver…everybody seemed to be in a jolly mood or not..no grey area.

  since my assistant didn’t make it  i appointed my vintage leather  rucksack to be my side kick…it more than stood up to the test….. I checked into Radison Blu hotel and drew the blue print   for the biggest   power nap before the crew came calling..that was supposed to be the plan ; the feeling of being was awesome I couldn’t even sit still..I loved my room and the view from the hotel? Amazing! Yeah I stood outside and stared at the city for time..very therapeutic, got a lot of thoughts in .  touchdown nigeria! …… ♠ #nowplaying Rick ross ζ this is the life it didn’t take time for my flygerian crew to swoop in . i got scooped up by none other than  one of lagos’  new girl on the block  designer , Wana Sambo (#ff @thewanasambo) to the eko hotel  venue where the rehearsals for the first ever MMR( music meets the runway) in Nigeria was being held .

The energy backstage was sooo crazy ! I gotta commend the thirst for perfection on this land.. First captain of the jet set crew! Captain femi . Femi has been a fan of the blog since its early days on facebook and I must say I was more than grateful to run into this crazy lad. The love in this country is crazy….

The ever amazing Wana Sambo (@theWanaSambo)

ME , FEMI AROGZ , TERRENCE SAMBO of ONENIGERIANBOY.COM

BUBU , CEO AND CREATIVE DIRECTOR OF THE STREETWEAR LABEL THE CHARLATANS AND THE BRAIN BEHIND THE IAMISIGO FASHION HOUSE . BUBU BLESSED THE EVENT BY STYLING FOR GREY FASHION HOUSE

We finally hit backstage ( needed a close up look at the models..). It felt good to be in a common geographical location with people who appreciate the essence of art through style . Met a few more crazy people who I’m gonna thank the lord for in ma next prayer session    I CAUGHT TERENCE BACKSTAGE EATING AN ELBOW IN HIS B-BOY STANCE..LOL  FINALLY CAME BACK TO THE HOTEL TO CATCH SOME Zzzz BEFORE WE HEADED OUT AGAIN…I TOLD YOU I DON’T GO ANYWHERE WITHOUT THESE BABIES. I RECENTLY THRIFTED THIS ELLE HOMME CLUTCH , IT WAS PERFECT FOR MY JOURNEY…EVEN MY SUNGLASSES HAD A COMPARTMENT  AND THE PERFECT THING IS THE LOCK SYSTEM ON IT STILL WORKS…#DENCH

Room service! We are serving big guns today, and a hand grenade for dessert . I have been dying to show you guys the first sample  piece from my soon to come shirt label that I’m working on. I was earlier going to call it cushion addict but somehow  “the gentleman’s needle” crept through the corridors of my mind..still havnt decided yet but I was phsyched about it. The shirt has a  button detail on its collar which took  days to perfect..I wanted the shirt to stand out with a subtle but catchy detail and the button detail idea just seemed  worked perfectly . I was contemplating about putting a little color into my ensemble but decided to keep it dark and elegant . I’m glad to announce that new “never leave home without it” item are my heel the world empowerment beads…kindly cue “racks on racks ” here. I stacked up two more beads…arrest me ! I am abusing my wrist! .

 (Photo courtesy of bellanaija.com) Since I broke my camera I couldn’t take enough pictures so I stuck my femi and the sky vodka bottle..nice friends..woke up with a u-haul truck on my head .  So after an amazing night my enemies were up to it again..the breakfast sucked!..Radison Blu needs to switch up their cook quick fast in a hurry

 Battle of the drilles! 

   NIGERIA THANK YOU FOR HAVING THE KID ..HANG TIGHT TO EVERYONE I MET..I AM DEFINITELY COMING BACK!

2 responses to FWST : FRESHWALLSTREET GOES TO NIGERIA FOR MMR

  1. Oh how coooool! i enjoyed reading this post thoroughly.
    Loool so u bought your ticket because you thought u’d meet Amber Rose??
    I see u hv a thing for her cos she is constantly on reblog mode on your tumblr.
    hahaha
    Love your blog!
    Keep up the good work
    xxx

  2. Khadija

    Gosh! I’m loving this. Reading all these fashion blogs is moving me one inch closer to start mine or at least do something about my love for it. (BTW, I’m supposed to be going to class but I CAN’T stop going through the stories!)

Leave a Reply

