FWST SPOTLIGHT : Monsieur Jean Yves

THE FEATHER #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

Most people have an aversion when it comes to standing out in a crowd like a sore thumb, but the confident gentleman is not like most people as his main aim is  not to look like every  tom ,dick and harry when he steps into a room.  Every confident gentleman who has thorough knowledge of self style will testify that choices for subtle individuality are slim…Finding an accessory that steps above the board of differentiating you from the crowd is as difficult as getting the sun and moon to have a conversation for an hour straight. I always maintain that my blog is a style and not a fashion blog so I try as much as possible not to focus on fashion on a brand level but I outright can’t turn my head away from brands who go a step above just a price tag and that was what exactly happened when I stumbled on the bow tie making house   MONSIEUR JEAN YVES. Through the corridors of time, gentlemen from all sorts of walk have come to agree that even a corpse looks better in a bow tie and pocket square. The bow tie has long been the mark of the adventurous and quintessential gentleman with a breeze of intellectual air , and pointing out its mark on the gentleman’s  wardrobe is equivalent to pointing out the sun on a sunny day . The bow ties with its crown presence seems to have given itself little space for evolution and has still seen its own journey through time and yet one may ask, ‘’what else can you really do to a bow tie?’’…ask Monsieur Jean Yves

THE GALUCHATT #THE PALACE MODE COLLECTION 2011

Monsieur Jean Yves started his career in the world of contemporary art, organizing exhibitions with the most prestigious galleries and artists worldwide. In 2010, he designed his first collection of bow-ties, almost by accident; partly because he couldn’t find any he liked in the shops, but also because of his genuine love for good craftsmanship, and the Parisian tradition of luxury, fashion, and excellence. He set up his studio on the famous Place Vendôme, where each bow tie is made by hand. His perfectionism, creativeness, and decisive sense of style, have made his bow ties absolutely unique, and were met with an immediate success. The brand is out with its new collection dubbed THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION . I love this collection to the bits because it doesn’t leave room squirky details , and it looks well thought out with different materials the bow tie hasn’t been seen in before. I was beyond the 9th cloud when mjy gave me the opportunity to get into his head .

THE "LE-ZARD" #THE PALACE MODE COLLECTION 2011

FWST WHO IS IN MIND WHEN THE CREATIVE MINDS AT MONSIEUR JEAN YVES STARTS GETTING THE LIGHT BULBS ?

MJY: Myself! And the people I love.

THE "MON KIKI" #THE PALACE MODE COLLECTION 2011

FWST   THE BOWTIE HAS BEEN A STAPLE IN THE GENTLEMAN’S WARDROBE, ONE THAT SOME MIGHT THINK ITS ONE OF THE JEWELS THAT DOESN’T LEAVE A FACE LIFT. WERE YOU WORRIED ABOUT THE RECEPTION?

MYJ Not really, I started making bow ties simply because I couldn’t find any I liked in the shops. I wanted better shapes, better materials and colors… It doesn’t take much to turn something pretty ugly, and vice versa.

THE FRENCH DISCO #THE PALACE MODE COLLECTION 2011

FWST THE BOWTIE HAS BEEN A STAPLE IN THE GENTLEMAN’S WARDROBE , ONE THAT SOME MIGHT THINK ITS ONE OF THE JEWELS THAT DOESN’T LEAVE A FACE LIFT. WERE YOU WORRIED ABOUT THE RECEPTION .

 MJY Not really, I started making bow ties simply because I couldn’t find any I liked in the shops. I wanted better shapes, better materials and colors… It doesn’t take much to turn something pretty ugly, and vice versa.

THE ALLIGATOR #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

FWST WHAT HAS BEEN THE BIGGEST CHALLENGE FOR THE BRAND SINCE IT CAME INTO EXISTENCE?

 MJY Finding people to work with!  As part of my team,  but also outside partners and suppliers. When you’re a small, starting company, it’s hard to get people to take you seriously. I was lucky enough to meet amazing people to work for and with me. I couldn’t have done it without them.

THE GIGOLO #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

FWST HOW MUCH WORK GOES INTO MAKING ONE BOW TIE

 MJY  The manufacturing itself only takes an hour or two, but there’s a whole lot of research to be done before that

THE AMAZONIA #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

FWST SOME MIGHT SAY HOW MUCH CAN YOU DO TO A BOW TIE BUT THE BRAND ALWAYS COMES OUT WITH AMAZING COLLECTIONS! I WAS PERSONALLY AMAZED AFTER I GOT AN EXCLUSIVE SNEAK PEAK AT THE Palace disco club COLLECTION. WHAT INSPIRES MJY?

MJY First of all, I always keep in mind that every bow tie must be wearable, even the craziest ones. We wear them so close to our face, it can’t be too gimmicky. I’m inspired by my knowledge of art, by the people I meet… It can come from the most ordinary things (like my doorknob!), to the color of a sky in a landscape by Poussin. Also, I often look at birds, or insects. Nature is a great artist!

THE BEAU MEC #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

FWST  WHY THE NAME ”PALACE DISCO CLUB” FOR THE NEW COLLECTION.

MJY It’s really just a joke. This collection was designed at the request of Anna from the Bon Marché, whom I like very much. She only likes very elegant things, and I thought I would tease her a bit by giving the collection a very tacky name like “Palace disco club”, even though the collection isn’t! At the studio I often like to play very cheesy, corny music just to make my team whine!

THE PEGGY BOY #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION

FWST WHERE DOES THE BRAND SEE ITSELF IN THE FUTURE IN THIS  EVER EVOLVING DEMAND IN THE RETAIL CIRCLE.

 MJY   We’re going to start making other accessories (shoes, bags, hats, scarves, jewelry), in the same spirit and with the same level of quality.

THE PALACE #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

FWST THE BOW TIE OVER TIME HAS RE BIRTHED ITSELF AND IT IS NOT EVEN EXCLUSIVE TO THE GENTLEMAN’S WARDROBE   BUT IS EVEN STRETCHING HER ARMS INTO OTHER CIRCLES LIKE STREET WEAR. IS THIS A DOOR SHUT OR AN OPEN DOOR FOR THE BRAND .

 MJY It would be my dream to have my bow ties adopted by street wear! Bow ties are not only for posh parties and going to the Opera. My favorite outfit is a bow tie, polo shirt, leather jacket, flannel pants and sneakers.

THE CANNIBALE #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

  ♠

Monsieur Jean Yves is distributed in Paris, at Le Bon Marché, Frank & Fils, in Brussels at Beau, online on menlook.com, and will be coming soon to Asia and the US.

THE PINKY BOY #THE PALACE DISCO COLLECTION 2011

yours daily

21 responses to FWST SPOTLIGHT : Monsieur Jean Yves

  1. Nana

    brilliant! i am definitely getting my boyfriend one..no two of these!

  2. Selorm

    i gotto get me one of these!!!….all the ties are tight!! and approved by FreshWallStreet???…then its a must have!!

  3. Shea Shea Lanquaye

    OMGoodness,

    The ‘Feather’ and the ‘Mon Kiki’ are rocking my world right now!

    Thank you for making my week Fresh Daily!

    Love Shea Shea Lanquaye

  4. yasmin

    Well all i want to do is walk around with nothing but these bow ties on 😉

  5. ebela

    Only Allen can make self-proclaimed ‘not interested in fashion’ hard knock like me swoon at the sight of bow ties for men! What a gorgeous find! Kudos for the presentation ‘I always maintain that my blog is a style and not a fashion blog so I try as much as possible not to focus on fashion on a brand level but I outright can’t turn my head away from brands who go a step above just a price tag and that was what exactly happened when I stumbled on the bow tie making house   MONSIEUR JEAN YVES.’
    Amen & WELL DONE!!!!

  6. fasasha

    Dope…i rarely see bow ties with any other concept at all.Just the plain regular one’s.Glad to see some variety!

  7. sefakor gbewonyo

    never seen them come in such breathtaking variations! cooooooool!

  8. I not only love you way with words, I love your choice of subject. I’ve never heard of Monsieur Jean Yves and I’m impressed with his creativity with bow ties. I look forward to reading more of your style blog. Keep up the great work!!

  9. Guillaume-Francois DuBois

    A rarity, a touch of class, a must have… Need i say more. How do I get to make a purchase?

  10. nana binfo

    meh.. im outta words.. im not really a big fan of ties, but when i decide to jump on em, i always like the bow ties and this one is on point, very diff and i love the style and design too i love all the the designs i cant really pick up. this will surely stand you out and look different

  11. LOVE LOVE.. since I dont have a BF.. I want one for myself.. Bowties are unisex.. keep up the goodwork.. stay blessed.. 🙂

  12. eunice

    wowwwww!this is lovely! guess i need to get one for my best friend, they are lovely!

  13. nita sweetdaily

    Am really impressed! Hey guys don’t think those for u only, am definitely rocking one of these!!! Exquisite!

  14. The first bow tie and the alligator bow tie are my favs. I don’t have a significant other but I’d wear them myslef

  15. naayabs

    omg such variety!!! le-zard, mon kiki, alligator and cannibale??!! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

